Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Remote Services & Resources

Building Status

As part of Salem Academy & College’s response to COVID 19, access to Gramley Library is currently available by card-swipe access during operating hours.

Stay tuned to this page for the most current information. (last updated 8/26/21)

Curbside Pickup & Returns

Requesting Items

  • Physical books in the library can be requested for pickup via curbside service. When searching for items through the library’s catalog, click on the title of the item you would like to request. Under “Access Options” on the right, select “Place Hold” and submit your request.
  • If you need are in need of a device, the library has laptops available for checkout. Please complete this Request Form to start the process.

Picking Up Items

  • You will receive an email notice when your requested item is ready for pickup. Books will be available on a cart inside the library entrance, labeled by patron last name. Laptop pickup will be coordinated on an individual basis by a library staff member.

Returning Items

  • Books may be returned via the book drop, now accessible at all times outside at the library entrance.
  • If you have questions about returning a laptop you have checked out, please email circ.desk@salem.edu.

Online Library Resources

Borrowing from Other Libraries

In the tabs to the right you will find directions on how to place Interlibrary Loan (ILL) requests from both the library catalog and databases. Please note that articles are delivered electronically and books or audio/visual materials can be picked up via curbside service. A Salem ID is required for the curbside service process.

If you are looking for a particular article, use the search bar on the library's website and enter the article title (not the journal title). The search results will show you one of the following statuses: Held by Salem, Held by Libraries Nearby, or Held by Libraries Worldwide. For items not held by Salem, click on the title to proceed:

 

image showing search result held at another library

 

On the title page there will be an Access Options section on the top right. select Request Item from Another Library:

screenshot showing request from another library button

 

Log in on the next page using your MySalem credentials. You will need to complete some required information the first time you access ILL, but once that is completed you will be taken to the request form.  For the patron ID field, enter the number on the back of your Salem ID card. 

The form will automatically populate with the article information, but please review for accuracy and to ensure all required fields are completed. Review and agree to the ILL policies before clicking Submit to send your request.

ILL policy agreement form

In order to access databases off-campus, you must begin your search from the library's website: https://library.salem.edu.

 

Each search result in a database will provide a link to the item if Salem has access or a Find Full Text link if we do not. If a direct link (either PDF or HTML) to the item is not present, select Find Full Text.

screenshot of search result with blue circle around "find full text"


 

The next page will automatically populate a search form with the article information. Review for accuracy and select Search.

screenshot of search fields with arrow next to title and publication year


 

This will search all databases to which Salem has access. If a full text link is found in another database, there will be a link on the search results page. If no holdings are found, please select Request Item from Another Library.

screen shot of search results with blue circle around "request from another library"


 

Log in on the next page using your MySalem credentials. You will need to complete some required information the first time you access ILL, but once that is completed you will be taken to the request form.  For the patron ID field, enter the number on the back of your Salem ID card. 

The form will automatically populate with the article information, but please review for accuracy and to ensure all required fields are completed. Review and agree to the ILL policies before clicking Submit to send your request.

screenshot of ill policy agreement form