Home: Health Leadership: Databases & Journals

Off-campus Access

Access the library's electronic resources anytime, anywhere! Just make sure to start your search from this research guide or the library's website at https://library.salem.edu.

When prompted to log in, use your MySalem credentials. Enter just your username and not the @salem.edu portion of your log in. Example: jane.doe NOT jane.doe@salem.edu. For problems with your username or password, please contact IT at helpdesk@salem.edu or (336) 917-5899.

Other Resources

Clinicaltrials.gov

Available Journals

American Chemical Society Journals

JSTOR Life Sciences Collection

Through JSTOR, the library subscribes to a Life Sciences collection which includes over 200 titles in the field sciences, with great depth in botany, ecology, and ornithology, along with important titles in general science, medicine, nursing, epidemiology, and public health. Searching JSTOR through Salem automatically includes articles from these titles. Here are just some of the individual titles included in this collection:

The American Journal of Nursing

BMJ: British Medical Journal

Clinical Infectious Diseases

Environmental Health Perspectives

Epidemiology

The Journal of Cell Biology

The Journal of Infectious Diseases

Scientific American

Selected Titles

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Magazines and journals on many subjects, includes peer-reviewed and scholarly works; full text available.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles in over 375 core academic journals with back-files lacking only the most recent 3 -5 years.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as Lexis Nexis Academic University, this database provides an index to articles, with full text, in hundreds of news, business, legal, medical, and general reference resources.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
From the National Library of Medicine; provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Consumer-oriented information on many health topics such as the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health; many journals include full text.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
More than 400 scholarly full text journals covering many medical disciplines; abstracts and indexing for over 500 journals; also includes Stedman's Medical Dictionary.
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, entomology, and more.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexing for over 1,200 nursing journals, abstracts for over 250 journals, and full text for over 300 health journals.
MedLine plus This link opens in a new window
MEDLINEplus Extensive information about diseases and medical conditions from the National Institutes of Health. Includes lists of hospitals and physicians, medical dictionaries, and more.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.
Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window
Magazines and journals covering consumer health topics, such as sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care and dentistry.

Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Includes professional journals, conference papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
Linguistics Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Religious news and information, informative details on doctrines and philosophies, and scholarly reports on religious history and related archaeology

Health Leadership

Interlibrary Loan

Get Library Help

Off-campus Access

Other Resources

Available Journals

Databases