Home: Copyright and Fair Use: Royalty-free Resources

Royalty-free Sounds

FREE Sound Effects
A listing of sound effects for video productions.
Freesound Project
"The Freesound Project is a collaborative database of Creative Commons licensed sounds."
FindSounds
"A free site where you can search the Web for sound effects and musical instrument samples."
Freeplay Music
Free music and sound effects.
Free Sound Effects
"You may use the sound effects on this web site free of charge in your video, film, audio and multimedia productions..."
Incompetech
Royalty-free music.
Sound Effects Libraries
Free sound effects and also links to licensed providers.
The Internet Archive
A collection of images and sound

Archival Research Catalog
National Archives Database of various governmental and historical images, videos, sound bites. Be sure to check each resource's copyright statement.
The Commons
Royalty free images brought to you by Flickr
Creative Commons Search
Search for images, video, sounds, and more.
Flickr
Be sure to select the Creative Commons option before searching! Use for photos or videos.
Free Images
The only drawback is you have to join this site first.
The Internet Archive
A collection of images and sound
Library of Congress Collection
Produced by the Library of Congress and mostly free. Be sure to check the copyright statement before using.
The Morgue File
"Free images for your inspiration, reference and use in your creative work, be it commercial or not!"
Google LIFE Photo Archive
Images with copyright restrictions will have a note on the actual image.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Click on the "image quick view" selection you want at the bottom right before you do your search.