Banner Image Skip to main content

Salem Remote Learning for Students: Interlibrary Loan Requests

My Salem Credentials

When using your MySalem credentials to access library resources, please enter your username only and not the @salem.edu portion of your log in. 

Example: jane.doe NOT jane.doe@salem.edu

For problems with your username or password, please contact IT.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Below you will find directions on how to place Interlibrary Loan (ILL) requests from both the library catalog and databases. Please note that articles are delivered electronically and books or audio/visual materials can be picked up via curbside service. Please note, a Salem ID is required for the curbside service process.

Placing ILL Requests

If you are looking for a particular article, use the search bar on the library's website and enter the article title (not the journal title). The search results will show you one of the following statuses: Held by Salem, Held by Libraries Nearby, or Held by Libraries Worldwide. For items not held by Salem, click on the title to proceed:

 

held by other libraries text highlighted with red oval

 

On the title page, scroll down to the Check Availability section and select Request Item from Another Library:

request item text highlighted with red oval

 

Log in on the next page using your MySalem credentials. You will need to complete some required information the first time you access ILL, but once that is completed you will be taken to the request form. It will automatically populate with the article information, but please review for accuracy and to ensure all required fields are completed. Review and agree to the ILL policies before clicking Submit to send your request.

ILL policy agreement form

 
In order to access databases off-campus, you must begin your search from the library's website: https://library.salem.edu.

 

Each search result in a database will provide a link to the item if Salem has access or a Find Full Text link if we do not. If a direct link (either PDF or HTML) to the item is not present, select Find Full Text.

find full text highlighted with red oval on database search result

The next page will automatically populate a search form with the article information. Review for accuracy and select Search.

article title and publication date highlighted on request form

 

This will search all databases to which Salem has access. If a full text link is found in another database, there will be a link on the search results page. If no holdings are found, please select Request Item from Another Library.

request item from another library highlighted with red oval

 

Log in on the next page using your MySalem credentials. You will need to complete some required information the first time you access ILL, but once that is completed you will be taken to the request form. It will automatically populate with the article information, but please review for accuracy and to ensure all required fields are completed. Review and agree to the ILL policies before clicking Submit to send your request.

ill policy agreement form

Get Help!