Find Books - ENGL 399 - Contemporary Literary Theory

Off-campus Access

Access the library's electronic resources anytime, anywhere! Just make sure to start your search from this research guide or the library's website at https://library.salem.edu.

When prompted to log in, use your MySalem credentials. Enter just your username and not the @salem.edu portion of your log in. Example: jane.doe NOT jane.doe@salem.edu. For problems with your username or password, please contact IT at helpdesk@salem.edu or (336) 917-5899.

Course Materials

If your professor has placed items on reserve, you can search the library's course reserves page to find them. Search by course prefix (e.g. ENGL) or your professor's name. Electronic items will have direct links provided. Physical items may be checked out and used in the library only for three hours at a time on a first-come, first-served basis. For questions about course reserve items, please email library@salem.edu.

Literary Theories in Praxis by Shirley F. Staton (Editor)
ISBN: 0812280377
Publication Date: 1987-03-01
Literary Theories in Praxis analyzes the ways in which critical theories are transformed into literary criticism and methodology. To demonstrate the application of this analysis, critical writings of Roland Barthes, Harold Bloom, Cleanth Brooks, Jacques Derrida, Northrop Frye, Norman Holland, Barbara Johnson, Jacques Lacan, Adrienne Rich, and Robert Scholes are examined in terms of the primary critical stance each author employs--New Critical, phenomenological, archetypal, structuralist/semiotic, sociological, psychoanalytic, reader-response, deconstructionist, or humanist. The book is divided into nine sections, each with a prefatory essay explaining the critical stance taken in the selections that follow and describing how theory becomes literary criticism. In a headnote to each selection, Staton analyzes how the critic applies his or her critical methodology to the subject literary work. Shirley F. Staton's introduction sketches the overall philosophical positions and relationships among the various critical modes.
Twentieth-Century Literary Theory by K. M. Newton
ISBN: 0312175884
Publication Date: 1997-11-01
A thoroughly revised edition of this successful undergraduate introduction to literary theory, this text includes core pieces by leading theorists from Russian Formalists to Postmodernist and Post-colonial critics. An ideal teaching resource, with helpful introductory notes to each chapter.

Search the Library's Catalog

Electronic Book Collections

EBSCO eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary e-books representing a broad range of academic subjects.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
You need credible content from authoritative, scholarly sources. Ebook Central delivers, with breadth and depth of ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.
Home Grown eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of eBooks from eight North Carolina publishers. All of the titles in the collection can be read instantly inside the browser window.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
"Download free ebooks for Kindle, Android, iPad, Nook, ePub or read online. No registration required."

Reference eBooks (including encyclopedias and dictionaries)

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text access to eBooks and encyclopedias from popular disciplines, including Arts and Humanities, History, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Religion, Science, Social Science and more.

Browse Physical Books

Books in Gramley Library Stacks

Call numbers identify the location of print materials in a library and they also tell us about the primary and secondary classifications within a given subject. To find information related to Literary Theory in the library stacks, browse the following call numbers:

A--- subject

AB--Subject

AB1001-500.2.....Subject call number

Find call numbers here https://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/