Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)
As of 9/11/19, Gale Virtual Reference Library is now called Gale eBooks. Includes full-text access to eBooks and encyclopedias from popular disciplines, including Arts and Humanities, History, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Religion, Science, Social Science and more.
Reference Books in the Reading Room
Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature by
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
Contains approximately two hundred alphabetically arranged entries that provide information about Latin American literature, covering topics, countries, authors, and representative works. Includes a general reading list, as well as title and general indexes.
Diccionario Etimologico Espanol e Hispanico by
Publication Date: 1985-01-01
Este diccionario comprende todas las voces de los dicionarios normativos, como el de la Real Academia Espanola, y aun agrega formas que no se contiene en el. Las voces derivadas dentro del latin se incluyen todas y de las voces cultas, sean latinismos o helenismos, se incluyen todas las del diccionario academico, aumentandose el numero de helenismos cientificos que son de mayor uso como tecnicismos de distintas ciencias.
Hispanic Literature of the United States by
Publication Date: 2003-12-30
Providing a detailed historical overview of Hispanic literature in the United States from the Spanish colonial period to the present, this extensive chronology provides the context within which such writers as Sandra Cisneros, Rodolfo Anaya, and Oscar Hijuelos have worked.
Latin American Women Writers by
Publication Date: 2007-12-10
Latin American Women Writers: An Encyclopedia presents the lives and critical works of over 170 women writers in Latin America between thenbsp;sixteenth and twentiethnbsp;centuries. This features thematic entries as well as biographies of female writers whose works were originally published in Spanish or Portuguese, and who have had an impact on literary, political, and social studies.
Latino and Latina Writers by
Publication Date: 2003-12-01
This title in the Scribner Writers Series provides in-depth biographical and critical essays on more than 50 Latino/Latina writers. Seven thematic essays consider each writer's works in relation to music, language, feminism and other key topics. Covering well-known writers, such as Sandra Cisneros and Luis J. Rodriguez, as well as lesser known but still significant authors, such as Tino Villanueva and Achy Obegas, this set gives researchers detailed coverage of the vibrant works of literature written by Cuban, Dominican, Chicano and Puerto Rican authors.