Home: Political Science: Finding Books

eBooks

Through Salem Libraries, you may access eBooks both on and off-campus (using your MySalem credentials). They are available to download or can be used in your web browser for reading and searching.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text access to eBooks and encyclopedias from popular disciplines, including Arts and Humanities, History, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Religion, Science, Social Science and more.

eBook Collections

EBSCO eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary e-books representing a broad range of academic subjects.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
You need credible content from authoritative, scholarly sources. Ebook Central delivers, with breadth and depth of ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.

Finding Books

Encyclopedia of Political Theory by Mark Bevir (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781452265759
Publication Date: 2010-03-18
A reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary political theory, providing concise definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures.
21st Century Political Science: A Reference Handbook by Ishiyama, John T., Breuning, Marijke
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781452266367
Publication Date: 2010
The two volumes are divided into six major parts: 1) General Approaches of Political Science; 2) Comparative Politics; 3) International Relations; 4) Political Science Methodology; 5) Political Thought; and 6) American Politics. A section on identity politics includes chapters on topics such as Race, Ethnicity, and Politics; Gender and Politics; Religion and Politics; and LGBT Issues/ Queer Theory.
Encyclopedia of Politics by Rodney P. Carlisle (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781452265315
Publication Date: 2005-03-17
This two-volume Encyclopedia of Politics contains over 450 articles on individuals, movements, political parties, and ideological principles, with those usually thought of as left in the left-hand volume (Volume 1) and those considered on the right, in the right-hand volume (Volume 2).
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History by Michael Kazin (Editor); Rebecca Edwards (Editor); Adam Rothman (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781400833566
Publication Date: 2009-11-09
This two-volume encyclopedia covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today.

These books can be found in the Gramley Library Reading Room, located on the first floor. As reference materials, they cannot be checked out, but you may use them in the library. Scanning and photocopying is available in the library.

The Almanac of American Politics - 2016 by Richard E. Cohen; et al
Call Number: Reference Collection JK101.2 .A44 2016; also available as eBook
ISBN: 9781938518294
Publication Date: 2015-10-15
This highly regarded resource provides in-depth analysis and comprehensive profiles of every congressional district, state, governor and member of Congress.
The Statesman's Yearbook 2015 by Barry Turner (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection JA51 .S7 2014
ISBN: 9781137323248
Publication Date: 2014-07-23
The Statesman's Yearbook is the reference work of choice for accurate and reliable information on every country in the world, covering political, economic, social and cultural aspects.
Political Handbook of the World 2015 by Tom Lansford (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection JE37.P6 2015
ISBN: 9781483371573
Publication Date: 2015-04-24
The Political Handbook of the World provides timely, thorough, and accurate political Reference guide for finding complete facts and analysis on each country's governmental and political makeup. It also provides names of key ambassadors and international memberships of each country, plus detailed profiles of more than 30 intergovernmental organizations and UN agencies.
The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World by Joel Krieger (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection JA61 .O95 2001
ISBN: 0195117395
Publication Date: 2001-08-02
This second edition includes biographies of Kofi Annan, Tony Blair, Bill Clinton, and Gerhard Schroder; articles on events such as the Rwandan Genocide and the war in Kosovo; and coverage of international trade developments such as NAFTA and the World Trade Organization. The contributors discuss nearly every nation in the world, including extensive information on institutions, political parties, leaders, and the sources of political mobilization and conflict.

The following call numbers cover areas of interest for political science. These books will be located on the 2nd floor of Gramley Library. Please ask at the Circulation Desk if you need any assistance.

J - Political Science

JA - Political Science (General)

JC - Political theory

JF - Political institutions and public administration

JJ - Political institutions and public administration (North America)

JK - Political institutions and public administration (United States)

JL - Political institutions and public administration (Canada and Latin America)

JN - Political institutions and public administration (Europe)

JQ - Political institutions and public administration (Asia, Africa, Australia, Pacific Area)

JS - Local government. Municipal government

JV - Colonies and colonization. Emigration and immigration. International migration

JX - International law (see JZ and KZ)

JZ - International relations

K - Law

KD - KDK - Law of the United Kingdom and Ireland

KDZ - Law of America. North America

KE - Law of Canada

KF - Law of the United States (Federal law)

KFA - Law of the individual states (Alabama through New York)

KFN 7400 - Law of North Carolina

KFN 8600 - Law of individual states (North Dakota through Wyoming)

KG - Law of Latin America

KH - Law of South America

KJ - Law of Europe

KL - Law of Asia, Africa, Pacific Area, and Antarctica

KZ - Law of nations

H - Social Sciences

HA - Statistics

HB - Economic theory

HC - Economic history and conditions

HJ - Public finance