Home: Environmental Studies: Articles & Journals

Databases

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles plus searachable charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs and tables representing all major environment topics.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.

Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, entomology, and more.
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.
Highwire This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles in the natural sciences - some free.
Materials Science This link opens in a new window
Featuring content from 1962 to present, the database supports materials science research, covering topics such as metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials and dealing with areas such as corrosion, molding and casting, treatment, recycling, testing, finishing, welding, and forming.
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
Political science and international relations journals, dissertations and working papers on topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary database showcasing Elsevier's scholarly journal collections (very limited full text). Use Interlibrary Loan services to obtain articles.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Magazines and journals on many subjects, includes peer-reviewed and scholarly works; full text available.
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books; indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications; and an Image Collection of over 63,000 images.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles in over 375 core academic journals with back-files lacking only the most recent 3 -5 years.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Thousands of hand-selected, highly targeted articles, graphics, charts, maps, primary sources, government documents, websites, and more support viewpoints on 325 social, scientific, health, historic, economic, political, and global issues. Articles and graphics in SIRS Issues Researcher are carefully selected according to strict SIRS criteria for content reliability, relevance, and age-appropriateness for K-12 students.

Selected Journals

Nature

Science

Biodiversity and Conservation

Conservation Letters

Conservation Physiology

Ecosytem Health & Sustainability

Environmental Conservation

Journal of Wildlife Management

Landscape Ecology

Wildlife Monographs

Through JSTOR, the library subscribes to a Life Sciences collection which includes over 200 titles in the field sciences, with great depth in botany, ecology, and ornithology, along with important titles in general science, medicine, nursing, epidemiology, and public health. Searching JSTOR through Salem automatically includes articles from these titles. Here are just some of the individual titles included in this collection:

The American Journal of Nursing

BMJ: British Medical Journal

Clinical Infectious Diseases

Environmental Health Perspectives

Epidemiology

The Journal of Cell Biology

The Journal of Infectious Diseases

Scientific American

American Chemical Society Journals