Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Covers United States congressional activity, as well as executive and judicial decisions that affect Congress. Includes summaries of committee work, investigations, hearings, debates, and votes.
Comprehensive, non-biased reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world.
Points of View Reference Center
Full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.
SIRS Issues Researcher
Thousands of hand-selected, highly targeted articles, graphics, charts, maps, primary sources, government documents, websites, and more support viewpoints on 325 social, scientific, health, historic, economic, political, and global issues. Articles and graphics in SIRS Issues Researcher are carefully selected according to strict SIRS criteria for content reliability, relevance, and age-appropriateness for K-12 students.
Visualizations of American voting patterns from the beginning of the modern party system to today. Developed by the Digital Scholarship Lab at the University of Richmond.
United States Federal Elections Commission
Great source of campaign finance data! Can be downloaded in .csv or .xls formats.
How to Vote in NC
NC State Board of Elections
The Bipartisan State Board of Elections & Ethics Enforcement (State Board) is the state agency charged with the administration of the elections process, as well as campaign finance, ethics and lobbying disclosure and compliance.
Forsyth County Board of Elections
The Board of Elections is responsible for conducting all elections held in Forsyth County.
Guilford County Board of Elections
Committed to maintaining current and accurate voter files, maximizing voter registration and voter turnout efforts, educating the voting public, providing the best possible services and conducting efficient, fair, honest and impartial elections at a minimum cost to the electorate.
News and Record Candidate Guide
Best resource for Greensboro city and Guilford county level races. Profiles candidates at local, state, and national levels. Includes brief description of the duties, salary, and terms of the positions.
UNC-TV's Election 2010
Profiles candidates for all of the major state and national races.
Information on the representatives and candidates at the national and state level. Provides contact information and issue positions for candidates and elected officials.
Project Vote Smart
Big feature is the political courage test. Best for national and state level races. Covers candidates and elected officials in five basic categories: biographical information, issue positions, voting records, campaign finances and interest group ratings.
Best for national level races. A non-partisan, non-profit research group based in Washington, D.C. that tracks money in politics, and its effect on elections and public policy. Each candidate has a quality of disclosure meter!
League of Women Voters
Provides information on getting involved in the democratic process at the federal, state and local levels.