Home: Art: Books

E-Book Collections

E-books are available for download or reading full-text online. Many of Salem's eBook collections provide access to art and art history books, including the ones listed below.

On-Line Reference

Oxford Reference Online Premium
A core foundation of 135+ academic subject, language, and quotations dictionaries providing carefully vetted, trusted short-entry content. Additionally, 200+ in-depth, specialized titles from Oxford's award-winning Encyclopedias and Companions, and a selection of partner publishers' scholarly works.
Gale eBooks
Includes full-text access to eBooks and encyclopedias from popular disciplines, including Arts and Humanities....

Full-Text eBook Collections

EBSCO eBook Academic Collection
Contains a large selection of multidisciplinary ebooks from a wide range of academic subjects. Collecting titles from many of the leading university presses, this growing collection boasts more than 160,000 titles on subjects like art, business, languages, medicine, political science, social science, technology and many others.
Home Grown e-Book Collection
Project Gutenberg

Find Books

Browse the library shelves to find books on...

BF 789.C7 Color Psychology
BF 1779 Feng-shui
HD 9850 Textile business/industry
KF 2390 & KF 5701 Interior design & the law
N Visual arts
- N5300-7418 History
- N7420-7525.8 General works
NA Architecture
NB Sculpture
NC Drawing
ND Painting
NE Print Media
NK Decorative Arts
QC 495.2 Color Theory
TH Remodeling & Building
TH 7700-7975 Illumination & Lighting
TK 4125-4399 Electric Lighting
TP 930 Fabric dye and printing methods
TS 1300-1765 Furniture making
TT 140-854 House furnishings, etc.

The Dictionary of Art (vols.) by Jane Turner (Editor)
Call Number: ref N31 .D5 1996
ISBN: 9781884446009
Publication Date: 2003-02-11
34 volumes
Janson's History of Art by Frima F. Hofrichter; Penelope J. E. Davies; Walter B. Denny; Joseph Jacobs; Ann M. Roberts; David L. Simon
Call Number: ref N5300.J3 2007
ISBN: 9780131934559
Publication Date: 2006-02-06
Latin American and Caribbean Artists of the Modern Era by Steve Shipp
Call Number: ref N6502.4.S45 2003
ISBN: 9780786410576
Publication Date: 2003-01-22
Contemporary Women Artists by Laurie Collier Hillstrom; Kevin Hillstrom
Call Number: folio N8354 .C66 1999
ISBN: 9781558623729
Publication Date: 1999-04-01
Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Architecture (3 vols.) by R. Stephen Sennott (Editor)
Call Number: ref NA680.E495 2004
ISBN: 9781579582432
Publication Date: 2003-12-09
3 volumes
The Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts (2 vols.) by Gordon Campbell
Call Number: ref NK28.G76 2006
ISBN: 9780195189483
Publication Date: 2006-11-09
2 volumes
The Design Encyclopedia by Terence Riley (Introduction by); Mel Byars
Call Number: ref NK1370.B93 2004
ISBN: 9780870700125
Publication Date: 2004-06-02

Dissertations and theses are often overlooked sources of scholarly information. Although written by students completing their masters or doctoral programs, the research reported AND SOURCES listed in them have undergone perhaps the greatest scrutiny and review of all peer-reviewed sources. We are fortunate that many older and current dissertations are now made available full-text and online.