Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Music: M.M. Program

Sources dealing with music by and about women.

Research

The best sources for obtaining information for your research will depend upon your topic and the type of research you will be conducting. For instance, if you are doing historical research (e.g. an event, a specific edition of a musical work, an individual), your research might include books or databases that index journals that focus on historical research. If your research involves more contemporary questions (e.g. teaching methods, cause and effect for something), journals that publish research on current practice or education would be good sources. Much time and effort can be saved by focusing your research in appropriate areas.

Finding Articles

Many articles can be found using WorldCat Discovery, Salem's online catalog. Some are print and some are electronic. To search for an article in one of the journals, simply type in the article title, and if available full text, click on the "View full text" link to go to the article. If a physical copy of the journal is held by the Salem libraries, the holdings dates and location will be given. You may then visit Gramley Library and physically locate the journal.

To browse a journal, you can type in the title of the journal and click on the title. This takes you to a screen where you can then browse (or search) for your article by year and volume. Only those issues indexed through the database may be accessed, and quite often does not include the full run. Some journals do not offer up the latest year or years, e.g. only available full text through 2014, etc.

Examples of journals available through Gramley Library, both physical copies and electronic copies, that may be searched via the catalog are listed below. Some provide only citations and abstracts. For those, click on "Find a copy" to help you locate the article if it is not available through other Salem databases or through online sites. You may then order via Interlibrary Loan if necessary. Indexing is not available for hard copies--you will need to physically visit the bound journal storage area in the basement of Gramley Library in order to browse the journal.

 

While many of our databases are indexed through WorldCat, all are not. Below are specific databases which index various journals that may be useful in your music research. Many include full text. You will find that some databases provide more information related to your selected research focus than others. Following are examples of some of the databases that index music journals or topics related to your research topics. A full list of the databases for which Salem holds subscriptions may be found at http://http://guides.library.salem.edu/az.php.

 

Not all journals are indexed through the databases or our catalog. Some of these may be available for free on the internet.  When searching the internet, always be alert to the legitimacy of the source. While many are reputable, there may be items posted which are not. If you are uncertain as to how trustworthy the article or site is, it is recommended that you review the Evaluating Sources section found under the "Getting Started" page of this research guide. Remember, when in doubt, ask your instructor!

In addition, websites of professional organizations frequently provide relevant information for your research, and can sometimes point you to additional sources which you had not thought of researching.

Get Help!