Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)
As of 9/11/19, Gale Virtual Reference Library is now called Gale eBooks. Includes full-text access to eBooks and encyclopedias from popular disciplines, including Arts and Humanities, History, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Religion, Science, Social Science and more.
Encyclopedia of Murder and Violent Crime by
Publication Date: 2003-07-22
Edited by an internationally recognized expert on serial killers, this encyclopedia covers both murder and violent crime in their variant forms.
Encyclopedia of Race and Crime by
Publication Date: 2009-04-14
This encyclopedia covers issues in both historical and contemporary context, with information on race and ethnicity and their impact on crime and the administration of justice. Through entries in this encyclopedia, readers will gain a greater appreciation for the similar historical experiences of varied racial and ethnic groups and will see how race and ethnicity has mattered and continues to matter in the administration of American criminal justice.
Social History of Crime and Punishment in America by
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Several encyclopedias overview the contemporary system of criminal justice in America, but full understanding of current social problems and contemporary strategies to deal with them can come only with clear appreciation of the historical underpinnings of those problems.