Home: Criminal Studies: Finding Books

Electronic Book Collections

EBSCO eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary e-books representing a broad range of academic subjects.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
You need credible content from authoritative, scholarly sources. Ebook Central delivers, with breadth and depth of ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.
Home Grown eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of eBooks from eight North Carolina publishers. All of the titles in the collection can be read instantly inside the browser window.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
"Download free ebooks for Kindle, Android, iPad, Nook, ePub or read online. No registration required."

Reference eBooks (including encyclopedias and dictionaries)

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text access to eBooks and encyclopedias from popular disciplines, including Arts and Humanities, History, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Religion, Science, Social Science and more.

Finding Criminology Books

Call numbers identify the location of print materials in a library and they also tell us about the primary and secondary classifications within a given subject. To find information related to criminology in the library stacks, browse the following call numbers:

B--- Philosophy, Psychology, Religion

BF-Psychology

H--- Social sciences (General)

HV- Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Criminology.

HV6001-7220.5.....Criminology

HV6035-6197.....Criminal anthropology Including criminal types, criminal psychology, prison psychology, causes of crime

HV6201-6249.....Criminal classes

HV6250-6250.4 .....Victims of crimes. Victimology

HV6251-6773.55..... Crimes and offenses

HV6774-7220.5.....Crimes and criminal classes

HV7231-9960.....Criminal justice administration

HV7428.....Social work with delinquents and criminals

HV7431.....Prevention of crime, methods, etc.

HV8031-8080.....Police duty. Methods of protection

HV8035-8069.....Special classes of crimes, offenses and criminals

HV8073-8079.35.....Investigation of crimes. Examination and identification of prisoners

HV8079.2-8079.35.....Police social work

HV8081-8099.....Private detectives. Detective bureaus

HV8290-8291.....Private security services

HV8301-9920.7.....Penology. Prisons. Corrections

HV9051-9230.7.....The juvenile offender. Juvenile delinquency. Reform schools, etc.

HV9261-9430.7.....Reformation and reclamation of adult prisoners

K--- Law

KF- United States