Home: History: Books

Electronic Book Collections

EBSCO eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary e-books representing a broad range of academic subjects.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
You need credible content from authoritative, scholarly sources. Ebook Central delivers, with breadth and depth of ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.
Home Grown eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of eBooks from eight North Carolina publishers. All of the titles in the collection can be read instantly inside the browser window.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
"Download free ebooks for Kindle, Android, iPad, Nook, ePub or read online. No registration required."

Reference eBooks (including encyclopedias and dictionaries)

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text access to eBooks and encyclopedias from popular disciplines, including Arts and Humanities, History, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Religion, Science, Social Science and more.

Finding Books

Browse the Stacks
Selected Reference Books from Salem's Catalog

Most of Salem's circulating books on history are shelved on the third floor of the Gramley Library. The Library of Congress Classification Schedules may be used for browsing.

C Auxiliary Sciences of History

D-DR General History of Europe

D51-90 Ancient History

D204-455 Modern History (1453- )

DC1-947 History of France

DF10-951 History of Greece

DS-DX History of Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, etc.

DS41-66 Middle East

DS101-151 Israel

DS701-799.9 China

DT1-3415 History of Africa

E-F History of America

E151-889 United States History

E186-199 Colonial History

E456-655 Civil War History

F1-975 U.S Local History

Gramley Library houses or provides access to numerous reference books dealing with history from around the world and for all periods. Some of these titles are listed below.

The Encyclopedia of African-American Heritage
eBook
"'The Encyclopedia of African-American Heritage' chonicles more than a millennium of history -- the rich and varied tapestry woven by Africans who remained on their ancestral continent, those who were forced to leave their homes, and their descendants who developed roots in a new land. "
Encyclopedia of American History
ref E174 .E53 2003
"Each of the first 10 volumes covers a different period in American history with an alphabetical list of entries. A chronology of important events for that period, reprints of important documents, and an index specific to each volume are included. "
Encyclopedia of American religious history
eBook
"Provides information in an alphabetically arranged format describing and interpreting the diversity of religions in America throughout history. "
Encyclopedia of Black Studies
eBook
"Encyclopedia containing a full analysis of the economic, political, sociological, historical, literary, and philosophical issues related to Americans of African descent."
Encyclopedia of Local History
ref E180 .K25 2000
"Through brief, succinct notes and essay-length entries, the Encyclopedia of Local History presents ideas to consider, sources to use, historical fields and trends to explore. It also provides commentary on a number of subjects, including the everyday topics that most historians encounter. Useful appendixes provide information on ethnic groups, religious organizations, and immigration."
Encyclopedia of Women in American History
eBook
"This illustrated encyclopedia examines the unique influence and contributions of women in every era of American history, from the colonial period to the present. It not only covers the issues that have had an impact on women, but also traces the influence of women's achievements on society as a whole."
Encyclopedia of World History
eBook AND ref D21 .E577 2000
"An alphabetical reference comprising more than 6,500 entries on world history, with more than one thousand color illustrations, maps, and diagrams; a time line from 15,000 B.C. through 2000 A.D.; and other reference features. "