Home: School Counseling (MEd): Books

Reminder!

You will need a Salem Academy & College ID if you plan to visit the library after 5:00 Monday-Friday or on weekends. If you do not have a Salem ID, please contact Dr. Sheryl Long for information on obtaining your ID card.

eBook Collections

E-books are available for download or reading full-text online. Many of Salem's eBook collections provide access to education books, including the ones listed below.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text access to eBooks and encyclopedias from popular disciplines, including Arts and Humanities, History, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Religion, Science, Social Science and more.

eBook Collections

ABC CLIO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
History & literature eBooks, including the series Daily Life, Critical Companions, Literature in Context, as well as American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography.
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary e-books representing a broad range of academic subjects.
Home Grown eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of eBooks from eight North Carolina publishers. All of the titles in the collection can be read instantly inside the browser window.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
"Download free ebooks for Kindle, Android, iPad, Nook, ePub or read online. No registration required."

Finding Books

To locate books or other items in the library use the online catalog. The key to searching library catalogs is knowing the subject headings (or "terms"). Some examples of subject headings are:

Action research
Computer-assisted instruction
Counseling
Curriculum planning
Education, Bilingual United States
Education, Elementary
Education, Secondary
Educational counseling
Educational technology
Group work in education
Language arts
Learning, Psychology of

To find the subject headings for YOUR topic...

Use the online catalog to browse for books
Find a book that is relevant to your project by searching the online catalog using keywords.
Select a title from your results list by clicking on the title.
Click "Description" to get the full catalog record, which includes the subject headings for that item.
Click on any heading to see a list of books that include that subject heading.

Note: Subject Headings are listed alphabetically and then expand into sub headings, also listed alphabetically.

Sometimes you may simply want to browse books on a certain topic or subject. All books dealing with education are located on the 2nd floor of Gramley Library, and begin with the classification letter "L."

L General education sources
LA History of education
LB Theory and practice of education (includes ed psych, teacher training, school administration, etc.)
LC Special aspects of education (includes forms of education and social aspects of education)
LD Individual educational institutions in the United States
LE Individual educational institutions in North and South America (non-U.S.)
LF Individual educational institutions in Europe
LG Individual educational institutions in Africa, Asia, Australia, Pacific and other islands
LH School magazines and papers
LJ Student fraternities and societies in the U.S.
LT Textbooks

The Library of Congress Classification Schedule for Education books may be accessed using the following link.

Library of Congress Classification Outline for Education

Salem provides access to various reference books, both print and eBooks, dealing with counseling and school counseling. Some of these titles follow.

Almanac of American Education 2014-2015 by Deirdre A. Gaquin (Editor); Gwenavere W. Dunn (Editor)
Call Number: REF LB 2846 .A45 2014-15
ISBN: 9781598887365
Publication Date: 2015-03-06
The Almanac of American Education helps users understand and compare the quality of education at the national, state, and county levels. Compiled from official U.S. government and reliable private sources, the book contains historical and current data, insightful analysis, and useful graphs that provide compelling insights into the state of education in America.

Encyclopedia of Counseling
eBook
"The Encyclopedia of Counseling provides a comprehensive overview of the theories, models, techniques, and challenges involved in professional counseling. With approximately 600 entries, this definitive resource covers all of the major theories, approaches, and contemporary issues in counseling."--Pubr description.
more...less...
Available through EBSCO eBooks.

Education Statistics of the United States 1999 by Bernan Press Staff
Call Number: ref LB2846.U6 E38 2003
ISBN: 9780890590669
Publication Date: 1999-03-01
Collates the latest and some historical education data on the 19 percent of the US population that is 5-17 years and subsequent education and income attainment.
Encyclopedia of School Psychology by Steven W. Lee (Editor)
Call Number: ref LB1027.55.E523 2005
ISBN: 9780761930808
Publication Date: 2005-04-27
The Encyclopedia of School Psychology is the first comprehensive guide to this field featuring the latest research on school learning, motivation, and educational assessment. Approximately 250 entries by 175 contributing authors from psychology, education and counseling, child development, and special education address student success, behavior disorders, intelligence testing, learning disabilities, strategies to improve academic skills, and more.
Handbook of Special Education by James M. Kauffman (Editor); Daniel P. Hallahan (Editor)
Call Number: eBook and ref LC3965 .H26 2011
ISBN: 9780415800716
Publication Date: 2011-04-04
Special education is now an established part of public education in the United States--by law and by custom. The purpose of this 13-part, 57-chapter handbook is to help profile and bring greater clarity to this sprawling and growing field.
The Nineteenth Mental Measurements Yearbook by Buros Buros Institute; Janet F. Carlson (Editor); Kurt F. Geisinger (Editor); Jessica L. Jonson (Editor)
Call Number: REF BF451 .M549 2014
ISBN: 9780910674638
Publication Date: 2014-03-01
The most widely acclaimed reference series in education and psychology, the Mental Measurements Yearbooks are designed to assist professionals in selecting and using standardized tests. The series, initiated in 1938, provides factual information, critical reviews, and comprehensive bibliographic references on the construction, use, and validity of all commercially available tests published in English. The Nineteenth Mental Measurements Yearbook offers evaluations of the latest assessments in education, psychology, business, law, health care, counseling, and management. In addition to test reviews, the volumes also provide descriptions of the purpose, target population, administration, scores, price, author, and publisher for all listed tests.
North Carolina general curriculum test: flashcard study system by Mometrix Exam Secrets Test Prep Team
Call Number: LB1772 .N8 N672 2014
ISBN: 9781630944124
Publication Date: 2015
Research Methods in Education by William Wiersma; Stephen G. Jurs
Call Number: FAC REF LB1028 .W517 2009
ISBN: 9780205581924
Publication Date: 2008-02-28
A classic in its field, Research Methods in Education explains the research process with emphasis on the formulation of a research question, referencing current literature in the field, using appropriate research designs, and writing and evaluating research reports. Both quantitative and qualitative research designs are described. Measurement, sampling, and statistics are presented as essential research tools. Retaining the clear, concise writing style and organization that has made this text so popular, Research Methods in Education helps students evaluate research literature as well as master research methodology. It emphasizes the rationale for commonly used research procedures and their applications. The authors outline the nature of educational research and clearly define the steps in the research process. The text is broad in scope-covering both quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods research methodologies as well as describing how to write research proposals and reports of completed research. Research Methods in Education gives students a solid understanding of all the elements of research.

Salem offers various titles as eBooks available through our catalog. Some of these works include....

School Consultation for Student Success: A Cognitive-Behavioral Approach
In this book, "Strategies for promoting non-cognitive skills in students, career and college readiness, and optimal learning environments along with the general theories of consultation are presented. This book advocates for student support services personnel to work in concert with teachers, parents, and administrators to promote student success and social justice...Demonstrates how to apply effective rational emotive-social behavioral (RE-SB) consultation when working with teachers, parents, and administrators to maximize student success for all...Reviews the history, roles and practices of school counselors, school psychologists, and school social workers...Presents the SUCCESS-FOR-ALL model which helps school consultants devise intentional solutions that advance social justice and meet the instructional needs of all students."
more...less...
Available through EBSCO eBooks.
School Counseling and School Social Work Homework Planner
"This book provides exercises that school social workers, guidance counselors, and other mental health professionals can assign to their student clients as a way of extendng the therapeutic process outside the school."
more...less...
Available through EBSCO eBooks.
School Social Work: An Evidence-Informed Framework for Practice
This book "offers school social work students and veteran practitioners a new framework for choosing their interventions based on the best available evidence. It...synthesizes the evidence-based practice (EBP) process with recent conceptual frameworks of school social work clinical practice offered by leading scholars and policymakers. "
more...less...
Available through EBSCO eBooks.
The School Services Sourcebook: A Guide for School-Based Professionals
"A compendium of information for school-based social workers, psychologists, counselors, and educators. Chapters include step-by-step, evidence-based interventions for a variety of psychosocial and physical problems, as well as guidance for working with school organizations and communities"--Provided by publisher.
more...less...
Available through EBSCO eBooks.

Dissertations and theses are often overlooked sources of scholarly information. Although written by students completing their masters or doctoral programs, the research reported AND SOURCES listed in them have undergone perhaps the greatest scrutiny and review of all peer-reviewed sources. We are fortunate that many older and current dissertations are now made available full-text and online.

School Counseling (MEd)

Reminder!

eBook Collections

Finding Books

Use the online catalog to browse for books

Find a book that is relevant to your project by searching the online catalog using keywords.