Today's Hours
Journal articles often provide the most up-to-date research in most disciplines. As such, Salem Libraries provides access to journal articles through various databases. You may search for journal articles through the library catalog or by searching specific databases. To do a thorough search, you may want to search your subject or keywords in both the catalog and in the subject specific/interdisciplinary/general databases since all items are not discoverable by searching a single source. Although searches in Salem sources frequently yields numerous relevant articles on your topic, the search results almost always includes articles that we do not provide access to. Should you find such articles, read the abstracts to determine the appropriateness of the articles to your research. If deemed important, you may then request the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Since most articles are now produced electronically, the time lapse from requesting the article to actually having it in your inbox is anywhere from 24-72 hours.
If you are looking for a particular article, use the search bar on the library's website and enter the article title (not the journal title). The search results will show you one of the following statuses: Held by Salem, Held by Libraries Nearby, or Held by Libraries Worldwide. For items not held by Salem, click on the title to proceed:
On the title page there will be an Access Options section on the top right. select Request Item from Another Library:
Log in on the next page using your MySalem credentials. You will need to complete some required information the first time you access ILL, but once that is completed you will be taken to the request form. For the patron ID field, enter the number on the back of your Salem ID card.
The form will automatically populate with the article information, but please review for accuracy and to ensure all required fields are completed. Review and agree to the ILL policies before clicking Submit to send your request.
In order to access databases off-campus, you must begin your search from the library's website: https://library.salem.edu.
Each search result in a database will provide a link to the item if Salem has access or a Find Full Text link if we do not. If a direct link (either PDF or HTML) to the item is not present, select Find Full Text.
The next page will automatically populate a search form with the article information. Review for accuracy and select Search.
This will search all databases to which Salem has access. If a full text link is found in another database, there will be a link on the search results page. If no holdings are found, please select Request Item from Another Library.
Log in on the next page using your MySalem credentials. You will need to complete some required information the first time you access ILL, but once that is completed you will be taken to the request form. For the patron ID field, enter the number on the back of your Salem ID card.
The form will automatically populate with the article information, but please review for accuracy and to ensure all required fields are completed. Review and agree to the ILL policies before clicking Submit to send your request.