Night Against Procrastination is back on Wednesday, April 6 from 5-8 pm in the Library!
Bring your projects, papers, and questions!
February is Black History Month!
In celebration of Black History Month, a time to “honor the too-often neglected accomplishments of black Americans in every area of endeavor throughout our history,” the library is featuring works by and about black writers and artists, including titles about black liberation movements. Stop by the display outside the library’s Reading Room and pick up one of our offerings!
In addition to the physical display, many electronic resources are also available. These include the library’s Anti-Racism research guide, as well as eBooks on a variety of topics, including African American women’s literature, African American civil rights works, and Black power movements, to name a few.
As we begin the Spring 2022 semester, remember the library is here to help you!
Need to do research but don’t know where to start? Searching for a book, article, or data to support your argument? Not sure how to cite a source in your bibliography? Ask a librarian!
At ask.library.salem.edu, you can use chat, find answers to FAQs, or schedule an online consultation. You can also reach library staff via email at firstname.lastname@example.org or the Research & Learning Librarian at email@example.com. For more information and additional resources, visit the library’s website at library.salem.edu.
December 1, 2021
Need to work on final projects? Want a study break? Find space for both at Salem Library on Tuesday, December 7 between 4pm and 1am!
Drop in to enjoy FREE:
Get some studying done in a supportive space with librarians and tutors available for research, writing, and learning assistance!
November 1, 2021
Join us in the Gramley Library Reading Room on Wednesday, November 3, from 4-10pm for a Night Against Procrastination. We’ll have FREE coffee and donuts, research help from librarians, QUEST tutoring, and staff from the Writing Center. Save yourself some end-of-semester stress and join your fellow students in working on projects and getting the help you need!
October 12, 2021
Celebrated on the second Monday in October, Indigenous Peoples’ Day “recognizes the resilience and diversity of Indigenous Peoples in the United States.” Interested in learning more? Check out these selected library resources.
October 4, 2021
This week is National Voter Education Week. Stop by the library to complete a voter registration form, check your registration status, or pick up an item from the voter education display, pictured below. Also, check out the Civic Holidays at Salem Guide for details and information about campus events.
September 28, 2021
It’s National Voter Registration Day! Voter registration forms are available in the library or stop by one of these events on campus to register, check your registration status, or celebrate your ability to vote!
September 9, 2021
Welcome back to campus! The library has added new study spaces throughout the building. Whether you are looking for a quiet spot to work, a space to collaborate with your group, or a place to recharge between classes (mentally or your devices!) – the library has a place for you!
March 8, 2021
The Salem Academy and College Archives Facebook page is once again active! Archives intern Markl Ryals is busy researching and posting to the page 2-3 times per week, proving that the saying “What goes around comes around” is based on fact. Check our posts for information about how Salem dealt with past epidemics, anniversary celebrations, and more. Special posts also will focus on Salem’s “contributions” to various national celebrations, such as Black History Month and Women’s History Month, as well as information that is just plain interesting! Please visit often, and remember to like our page!
January 15, 2021
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
For information about events and resources to commemorate Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, please visit the MLK Day research guide. In addition, faculty, staff, students, and alumni are challenged to engage by reading one article, watching one video, and listening to one podcast from the included resources in preparation for MLK Day and to continue to engage in learning throughout the year. For additional resources, please visit the Anti-Racism research guide.
The only way to truly honor Dr. King’s legacy is to continue the work he started. You are invited to use the hashtag #SalemResponds to discuss on social media how we can each respond to King’s calls for justice.
November 30, 2020
Night Against Procrastination
Gramley Library and the Writing Center are hosting a Virtual Night Against Procrastination on Wednesday, December 2 from 7-10pm. Join us via Zoom for a supportive environment to work on your projects, with librarians and writing center tutors on hand to help. No appointments necessary! Check your Salem email for the Zoom link to join. Questions? Email firstname.lastname@example.org.
If you missed it, that’s okay! Reach out to us to chat, send an email, or schedule a research appointment.
For news and resources about the election, including related Salem events, please visit the Election 2020 research guide. Don’t forget to vote on November 3!
October 26, 2020
October 2020 Digital Display
June 24, 2020
Place Holds on Library Materials
Salem College Library announces the availability of a new service to increase access to our collection. You can now place holds on books in the Main Stacks and Popular Reading sections of Gramley Library, as well as items housed in the Fine Arts Center. When searching for items at https://library.salem.edu, simply click on the title. Under “Check Availability,” you will see a “Place Hold” button. Complete the form and a library staff member will reach out to you to schedule a time to pick up the item. Questions? Please ask us!
June 15, 2020
Anti-Racism Resources Guide
You can find these and more resources on the Anti-Racism Resources Guide. This is meant to be a collaborative effort, so please use the feedback form on the guide to share resources that might be useful additions. Corrections and suggestions are also welcome!
Pride Month Digital Display
Are you interested in finding new LGBTQ literature during Pride Month, or just need a kickstart to your summer reading list? Visit the Pride Month digital book and video display to discover some great LGBTQ classics, modern novels, autobiographies, and non-fiction; a new video series; a feature-length documentary’s virtual cinema release; and local and national resources for even more information. If you’re interested in borrowing a physical item from Gramley Library, you can now place holds on many items with a simple search of the library’s collection. A staff member will follow up with an email to schedule a pick-up time with you.
June 3, 2020
Returning Library Materials
Students returning to campus for dorm move-out:
Off-Campus Students with Library Materials:
May 11, 2020
2020 Faculty Accomplishments Exhibit
The sixth annual exhibition of Salem College faculty scholarly, professional, and creative accomplishments is being presented by Gramley Library. The online exhibition is available to enjoy at your leisure. You may share your congratulations in the comments section on the exhibition page.
May 5, 2020
Returning Library Materials
We are asking that you hold on to your library and Interlibrary Loan items for the time being. Please do not ship materials. We are coordinating with Residential Life about the dates residential students are coming back to pack their belongings at which time library materials may be returned. We will also notify non-residential students, faculty, and staff, when their items may be returned. Remember, due dates have been extended and no fines will be assessed for overdue materials when returned. Updates will be posted on this page.
April 28, 2020
The Salem Academy and College Archives is initiating a project to solicit documents as we attempt to record accurately the effects of the COVID-19 crisis on the Salem community – students, faculty, and staff. Please share your stories to document the present for the future.
March 31, 2020
Gramley Library staff has increased online capacity and service hours to support remote instruction. You can reach us via one of the following methods:
March 20, 2020
Dear members of the Salem community:
As part of Salem Academy & College’s response to COVID 19, Gramley Library has temporarily closed all physical spaces beginning March 18. This is also in keeping with the American Library Association’s recent recommendation regarding closing access to library facilities. We will be reassessing this on a daily basis and will continue to provide updates about library services and designated campus spaces on our Off-Campus Guide.
Library staff are working remotely and will continue to provide online services and resources for your teaching, learning and researching away from campus. Here’s how….
Borrowing and fines:
We have automatically renewed all books and other items that are currently on loan, with a new due date of May 14. No fines will accrue on these items and you should not receive overdue notices. You do not need to take any action if you have items checked out in your name. For Interlibrary Loan items we are communicating with lending libraries to renew the items and will email you with new due dates. We do not recommend mailing items to any library as they can get lost or damaged. As we near the due date in May we will email you and provide instructions on returning materials at the library’s Off-Campus Guide. If you have concerns or questions please email email@example.com
Online help and assistance:
Library staff can help faculty, staff, and students find and access online information, prepare information resources for remote instruction, and help locate or acquire electronic publications. You can reach us via email at firstname.lastname@example.org Please refer to our staff directory for other contact information. Staff will be checking their email and voicemail each business day.
March 18 – 29: We will respond to email inquiries via email@example.com and staff email weekdays between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.
Any faculty, staff, or student can also schedule a remote consultation with a librarian at a time that is convenient for you.
We are working to increase online capacity and service hours beginning the week of March 30th when remote instruction begins.
Library resources and collections
Salem Academy & College faculty, students, and staff have full access to all subscribed online library collections, e-books, e-journals/articles, streaming films, and databases by authenticating with your MySalem username and password. Always start your search at https://library.salem.edu/ to ensure that you have access to resources without encountering a paywall.
Interlibrary Loan will be available for digital materials ONLY until further notice. We will not be receiving or loaning print materials to other institutions. We will continue to provide updates about library services on the Off-Campus Guide
Course reserves in the library may be requested for scanning and online format by filling out the Course Reserve Scanning Request Form.
Many publishers are unlocking textbook and other content that would normally be behind paywalls. If you would like to review the list you may do so at https://tinyurl.com/vendorsupportedaccess.
Instruction and learning
Liaison librarians can help you integrate electronic resources into Moodle or other online course delivery and can help you identify or acquire alternative resources if needed. Not sure who your liaison librarian is? See the online teaching guide for liaison department assignments. Academy faculty should follow the same department assignments.
Liaison Librarians can also provide remote instruction to your class on the use of library and information resources via Google Meet, Zoom, and/or other platforms.
Learn more about remote library services for instruction and learning by visiting the online teaching guide.
We will continue to provide updates about library services and spaces on the Off-Campus Guide.
The library staff and I are committed to providing you with the best possible online resources and services during this challenging time. Please be sure to take care of yourself and others.
Director of Libraries, Salem Academy & College