Skip to Main Content

Test Preparation Guide

This guide is for presentation of various test preparation materials and recourses.

English as a Foreign Language

What is TOEFL?

TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) is a standardized test that is designed to measure the English language ability of non-native English speakers for entry into most United States universities.

What does the TOEFL consist of?

The TOEFL has four sections that focus on different skills: reading, listening, speaking, and writing. During the test, you will be expected to perform these skills in varying combinations, such as read, listen, and then speak in response to a question or read, listen, and write in response to a question. The TOEFL is approximately three hours in length.


What is IELTS?

The IELTS (International English Language Testing System) is a standardized test of English language proficiency for non-native English speakers.

What does the IELTS consist of?

There are two types of IELTS: Academic and General. Each version has four sections-- listening, speaking, reading, and writing. The listening and speaking portions of the tests are identical, but differ between Academic reading and writing, and General reading and writing. The total test time is approximately two hours and 45 minutes.