Home: Test Preparation Guide: Graduate School Examinations

Graduate School

What is the GMAT?

The GMAT (Graduate Management Admission Test) is a computer-adaptive test designed to assess analytical, writing, quantitative, verbal, and reading skills for use in admission to a graduate management program.

What to expect on the GMAT

The GMAT is a computer adaptive test, meaning that the tests adjusts to the test-taker's skill level. It has four sections designed to assess the aforementioned skills: Analytical writing, integrated reasoning, quantitative aptitude, and verbal reasoning. The GMAT is slightly over three hours in length.

Resources:

GMAT Foundations of Math by Manhattan Prep
ISBN: 9781506212456
Publication Date: 2016-11-01
Developed for test-takers who need a refresher, GMAT Foundations of Math provides a user-friendly review of basic math concepts crucial for GMAT success. Designed to be user-friendly for all students, GMAT Foundations of Math provides: * Easy-to-follow explanations of fundamental math concepts * Step-by-step application of concepts to example problems * 700+ practice problems and 10 chapters * Purchase of this book includes one year of online access to the Foundations of Math Homework Banks with 400+ extra practice questions and detailed explanations not included in the book. GMAT Foundations of Math is an invaluable resource for any student who wants to cement their understanding and build their basic math skills for the GMAT.
GMAT for Dummies by Lisa Zimmer Hatch; Scott A. Hatch
ISBN: 9781119374084
Publication Date: 2017-11-13
Score higher on the GMAT If the thought of the GMAT gives you the jitters, this trusted test-prep guide is here to wash your worries away! Covering everything you can expect to encounter on exam day, GMAT For Dummies gives you the practical, time-tested guidance you need to conquer your fears, maximize your score, and get into the business school of your dreams. Designed to measure your mastery of verbal, mathematical, analytical, and writing skills, the GMAT serves as the gatekeeper of world-class graduate degrees in business, finance, management, accountancy, and economy. With this book and companion website as your guide, you'll find all the helpful tips and tricks you need to brush up on each section of the exam, chart your progress, and focus your study on the areas where you need more help. Includes a plain-English explanation of the test's format Provides reviews of foundational concepts for every section Offers complete explanations of every question type Includes two full-length practice tests in the book, plus three more online Even if the big day is just around the corner, GMAT For Dummies makes it faster and easier than ever to outsmart the competition and get on the road to acquiring that coveted MBA!

4Tests
This site provides free access to practice tests for the GMAT and more.

What is the GRE?

The GRE (Graduate Record Examination) is a standardized test that is an admissions requirement for many graduate schools in North America. It is designed to measure verbal reasoning, quantitative reasoning, critical thinking and analytical writing skills.

What to expect on the GRE

The GRE is a computer-adaptive test that has three sections: Analytical writing, quantitative, and verbal. It is three hours and 45 minutes in length.

Resources:

GRE Verbal Reasoning by BarCharts Inc.
ISBN: 9781423234944
Publication Date: 2017
Overview of the Verbal Reasoning section, text completion; sentence equivalence;
reading comprehension; sample reading comprehension questions; vocabulary; scoring.
GRE Quantitative Reasoning by BarCharts Inc.
ISBN: 9781423234951
Publication Date: 2017
Overview of quantitative reasoning -- Arithmetic -- Algebra -- Geometry -- Data interpretation -- Measurement -- Scoring.
GRE Math Tests by Jeff Kolby; Derrick Vaughn
ISBN: 9781889057415
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Twenty-three GRE Math Tests! The GRE math section is not easy. There is no quick fix that will allow you to "beat" the section. But GRE math is very learnable. If you study hard and master the techniques in this book, your math score will improve--significantly! The GRE cannot be "beaten." But it can be mastered--through hard work, analytical thought, and by training yourself to think like a test writer. Many of the problems in this book are designed to prompt you to think like a test writer. For example, you will find "Duals." These are pairs of similar problems in which only one property is different. They illustrate the process of creating GRE questions. * If your target is a 700+ score, this is the book!
GRE Power Vocab by Anne Curtis and the staff of the Princeton Review
ISBN: 9781101881781
Publication Date: 2015
Introduction -- Vocabulary and the GRE -- Strategies for learning new words -- Warm-up quizzes -- Word list -- Word roots -- Final exam -- Foreign words -- Science words -- Literature 101 -- Theories and concepts -- Answers.

4Tests
This site provides free access to practice tests for the GRE and more.

What is the MAT?

The MAT (Miller Analogies Test) is a standardized test used primarily for graduate school admissions in the United States.

What to expect on the MAT

The MAT consists of 120 partial analogies that measure general knowledge about the humanities, natural sciences, mathematics, and social science. The test is 60 minutes long.

Resources:

MAT for Dummies by Vince Kotchian; Edwin Kotchian
ISBN: 9781118591925
Publication Date: 2013-03-28
Score your highest on the MAT? Easy. The MAT exam is one of the hardest intellectual challenges in the field of standardized testing. Students preparing to take this exam need a chance to practice the analogy skills necessary to score well on this test, which MAT For Dummies provides with its six full-length practice tests and plethora of other test preparation suggestions. MAT For Dummies includes test-specific analogy strategies, practice and review for each content area, word/terms lists covering the major subject categories, and six practice tests with detailed answer banks. Goes beyond content knowledge and teaches you the test-taking skills you need to maximize your score Includes six full-length practice tests with complete answer explanations Helps you score high on MAT exam day If you're a potential graduate student preparing for the MAT, this hands-on, friendly guide helps you score higher.

Miller Analogies Test Study Guide
A digital study guide for the MAT.
MAT Test Study Guide
A study guide with links to MAT practice tests and other resources.

Test Preparation Guide

PrepSTEP

PrepSTEP Database

Graduate School